Review: Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)

GRRM

Title: Game of Thrones

Author: George R. R. Martin

Series: A Song of Ice and Fire (#1)

Publisher: Bantam

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Okay, so I finally did it. After far too many fellow fantasy readers and friends cajoling and pestering me, I finally opened up the first book in GRRM’s monster series, “A Game of Thrones,” and began reading it. “It’s so great!” they said. “Don’t grow attached to any of the characters!” they said.

My reaction?  Meh. It’s okay. Just okay.

The writing quality overall is good. I can’t find any fault with GRRM on that, and that’s why I gave the book four stars. And so far I like the world that he’s built. But the characters…yeah, I’m not feeling them. Which I guess is just as well.

I think there was only one character that I felt much of anything for, and I’ll keep in mind that this writer likes to kill off his characters. I think GRRM may have shot himself in the foot on that one. It’s one thing to kill off a lot of characters (like Stephen King, for example). But even horror writers know when to keep certain ones alive in order to keep their fans loyal. GRRM has made such a reputation now of being a ruthless killer that I think it puts off a lot of readers from even picking up one of his books. I know it did me, and I’m still not convinced I want to read Book 2. I don’t get what the fuss is about, and at the moment, I think I might enjoy the HBO series more. At least then I can ogle Sean Bean.

As far as the plot itself . . . this is where it felt more like same old same old fantasy. I see the potential with the dragons and the wild things and winter coming, but it felt like it was taking forever for things to get going. Maybe just me? It very well could be the classic issue that books with large casts spread over the world struggle with, as readers of Robert Jordan would know. At least in this case, I saw subplots being wrapped up before the end of the book, leaving only the larger arcs to be dealt with in later books. This to me was a strength.

So now I’m left with the question. Should I actually take time to read the next book? It’s like you have to take a serious commitment to these things at over 1000 pages apiece. I’m not sure I’m feeling that dedicated.

For now, I’ll probably move on to other projects. And maybe I’ll check out an episode on HBO Go or something.

Leave a Reply

