Review: Gilded

gilded

Title:  Gilded

Author: Christina Farley

Publisher: Skyscape

Genre: YA Fantasy (Myths and Legends)

Rating:  4 stars

I’m always on the lookout for a good new YA author or series. I also happen to have a fierce love of Asian myths, so I was excited when I came across this book which deals with Korean legends and myths.

There are the usual expected tropes for a YA novel–love interest, lots of self doubt, problems with friends and parents, etc. The book moves along at a swift pace, however, and I liked that the stakes were high for Jae Hwa, an American-born Korean who is in Korea to study after her mother’s death.

I loved how the book used Korean gods, demons, and monsters. I really hope to see more Asian fantasy out there, and I think this was a good way to introduce young readers to a broader world. It amused me that the heroine is into archery. That seems popular nowadays with heroines!!  I guess if you’re going to choose an ancient weapon, a bow’s not a bad way to go. It does conjure images of Diana. And it looks badass. I also found it amusing that the heroine kept winding up in traditional Korean dresses.

Overall, this was a light, enjoyable read, and I may be back to read the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

