Review: Shade

 

81RwEJ3LrsL__SL1500_

Title:  Shade

Author:  Marilyn Peake

Publisher: Marilyn Peake

Genre: YA Paranormal

Rating: 3.5 out of 5  (rounded to 4)

Readers of my blog may remember when I reviewed another of Marilyn’s books, “Mutant Z: The Ebola Zombies” and featured an interview with her. I also read the first part of this book and found it interesting enough to read and review.

I thought this was a pretty good book for YA–the voice is spot on for the genre, and there’s some nice interaction between the characters, particularly Shade and the ghost who lives in her room, Brandon. I also liked and appreciated the gravity of the situation with Shade’s mother who suffers from Borderline Personality Disorder. I’ve known a couple people diagnosed with this, and the writer got it spot on.  They’re no fun to deal with, and it made me pull hard for Shade to have such a parent.

Thy mystery was a bit weak, but I mostly forgave that due to the ages of the characters. The ending was well done, particularly the aftermath, which too many writers like to leave out. (I’m looking at you, J. K. Rowling.) This book is about being different, being an individual, and I think it gave a good message.

Overall, I found this enjoyable. If you like YA paranormal, give it chance!

Leave a Reply

