Review: Soul Meaning

Title:  Soul Meaning

Series: Seventeen (Book One)

Author: A. D. Starrling

Publisher: A. D. Starrling

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

soul

A popular trend for indie writers is to offer the first book of a series free, as a way to hopefully draw readers in. I picked up this book because of the premise and the first line, “My name is Lucas Soul. Today I died again.  This is my fifteenth death in the last four hundred fifty years.”

So that’s a great opening set of lines. Totally hooked me.

As I read deeper into this very long (420) page book, however, I found it harder and harder to continue. There was plenty of action. Actually, there was nothing *but* action. And that was my main issue. I never felt like I got to know any of the characters, and therefore I really didn’t care what happened to them. So many of the so-called immortals died, it was like watching a movie. Whoops, another one died?  Oh well.

I actually think that if the writer had reduced some of the many fight scenes and expanded backstory and interactions between Lucas, his pal Reid, and the woman he loves, this would have been a better story. But apparently others love the action, by the many four and five star ratings the book has received. So if you love nonstop action, this is your book.

I just found it ironic that the book was titled “Soul Meaning.” To me, it didn’t have much meaning. Or much soul. Just a lot of Lucas Soul, kicking butt.

Leave a Reply

