Author Interview: Lazarus Infinity

I’m pleased to announce that the promotion for Journey To Landaran last week did well, and I’m moving forward again on the next book. In other news, it’s Indie Author Thursday! Today I have Lazarus Infinity (how’s that for a pseudonym?) with me today. Find out more about Lazarus at the links below the interview. Enjoy!

10009305_603490246403346_540229359_n

1)  So what inspired you to write?

My first love was always acting.  As a kid, I watched guys like Sidney Poitier, Humphrey Bogart and James Cagney, so I always wanted to be like them.  Then as I grew and began taking acting lessons, Denzel Washington became my idol.  As for writing, it was just always there; something I did to pass the time.  I never took it seriously and never EVER wanted to be an author.  One day when I was nine, my mother saw me writing a short story and said, ‘One day you’re gonna write a book.’  Anytime I would hear those words, I’d always laugh because I never believed it.  As it turns out, she was right all along.

2) Looking at your author page on Amazon I see horror, fantasy and romance?  What do you enjoy writing the most?

As far as fiction goes, I don’t have a favorite genre.  A good rule of advice I’ve picked up is to write whatever comes from the heart.  Since I’ve always been a very creative person who gets his ideas from dreams, I just go with the flow.  I don’t think in terms of genre until an idea comes fully formed, which surprisingly happens a lot.  Aside from writing books, I’m more into writing stage plays and screenplays.

3) You wrote a book, Occupation, set in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina, but with zombies.  Tell me about that.

Occupation came purely as a spur of the moment thing during a Saints game.  A friend of mine managed to get some tickets last minute and we all went.  I remember sitting in the Superdome before the start of the game thinking, ‘it would be pretty crazy if a horde of zombies just barged in and destroyed the place.’  Truthfully, I have no idea how that popped into my head but I figured it would be an interesting story to set against the backdrop of the year when New Orleans hosted the Super Bowl AND Mardi Gras in the same two week span.  More than anything, it was an exercise just to see if I could write anything like that since I hadn’t before.  The story is more of a novella, serving as a bit of a metaphor for something deeper.

4) Who is your favorite writer, and why?

For fiction, I’ve always been a fan of Stephen King because I grew up on horror films.  Always been a fan of really intensive, visual storytelling and he’s certainly a master of that.  Being a theatre major back in college, I also tend to draw a huge amount of inspiration from playwrights such as August Wilson and Arthur Miller.  The theatre is what I love and miss the most, so I always use that as motivation.

5) What do you think about the current revolution in self-publishing?

I think it’s both good and bad.  It’s definitely great for those writers who are passionate about the business and no longer have to deal with query letters being rejected.  They now have an avenue to get their work out there and build a reputable brand, and the financial benefits are extraordinary.  It can be a negative in the sense that now nearly everyone is trying to get in on it, so the marketplace is becoming flooded.  If you follow popular music, you see the same in Hip-Hop.  There was a time when only artists who could create great material got signed to labels.  Now because of the internet and social media, ANYONE can put out an album.  And let’s face it-a lot of the music is horrible.  Self-Publishing is seeing the same thing right now.  The upside is the fact that those who stick with it, learn how to market and publish quality work will eventually see long term success.

6) What are you working on next?

I actually have several projects in the works.  I’m currently working on a Sci-Fi romance entitled ANUNNAKI which is very spiritual in nature.  Following that will be my first vampire novel TAINTED BLOOD.  For those interested in children’s fiction, expect volume 2 of THE LITTLE BOY AND THE SEA to arrive some time in the new year.

7) How have circumstances in your life affected you as a writer?

The credit for all of it has to go to my mother.  Like I said, writing was always there since childhood.  While I was always more interested in writing plays and screenplays, she was the one that knew all along I’d publish books one day.  I had absolutely NO faith in that idea whatsoever and would often laugh at her for suggesting it.  When you say ‘author’, I immediately think of names like Langston Hughes, Stephen King, Ernest Hemingway and Truman Capote.  In my mind, there was never any way I could ever fit in that class of talent.  I still feel that way to this day.  What’s interesting and yet bittersweet about all this is that my mother passed away in 2009.  It’s without question the hardest thing I’ve ever had to go through, and that scar has never healed.  She knew all this would happen, and she’s not here to see it.  It’s extremely tough living with that everyday, but there’s no turning back now.

8) What advice do you have for other writers?

Write the stories you would want to read and think of yourself as more of a brand than just another writer.  Create great stories with interesting and compelling characters that readers can get behind.  Work hard at it every single day and never give up.

Here are my links: www.lazarusInfinity.net

Twitter:  www.twitter.com/lazarusInfinity

Facebook:  lazarusInfinity

Instagram: lazarusinfinity

Leave a Reply

