Author Interview: Stacy Juba

It’s Thursday!  You know what that means. It’s time for another indie author review, and today that’s with Stacy Juba, writer of mysteries and romance. You can find out more about Stacy through the links at the bottom of this post.

(Reminder, don’t forget that Journey To Landaran is free this week!  Expiring tomorrow. See my post from yesterday.)

Stacy

1 Why did you start writing?

I started writing in fifth grade as I loved to read and kept getting this urge to tell stories. I was also quite introverted and found that writing was an excellent way to express myself.

2.  It looks like you like to write in a variety of genres. What are your favorite? Why?

My favorite until recently was cozy mystery as I have always loved reading mystery stories, starting in my Nancy Drew days. I am launching a romantic comedy/chick lit series set in a theme park called Storybook Valley and that is my new favorite genre. Lately I’ve felt drawn to writing something funny and sassy, perhaps because those are the kinds of stories I’ve felt compelled to read on my e-reader. My overall goal, no matter what the genre, is to provide people with an entertaining escape from the stresses of their daily lives.

3.  I also see quite a few collaborations. What’s the best thing about collaborating with another writer? What’s the most challenging aspect?

I was the editor of the book 25 Years in the Rearview Mirror: 52 Authors Look Back, and I was also a contributor to the Bestseller Bound Short Story Anthology Volume 3 and to the dessert book Bake, Love, Write: 105 Authors Share Dessert Recipes and Advice on Love and Writing, among other projects. The best part is working with so many creative people, exchanging ideas and making new long-term connections. The most challenging part is that there will always be writers who submit to a group project and then don’t do any promotion of the final product.

4.  Tell me about your latest book.

My latest book is Sink or Swim, a mystery/romantic suspense novel about Cassidy Novak, a personal trainer who attracts a stalker after coming in second on a reality TV show. I am especially excited about the Audible edition, narrated by Funda Duval, who does a great job with the varety of voices. It’s like listening to a movie.

5.  Who is your favorite writer and why?

My favorite writer is Sophie Kinsella, author of the Confessions of a Shopaholic series. Her books just crack me up and draw me right in. I read them over a few days as I can’t put them down.

6.  What are you working on next?

I am finishing up editing my romantic comedy Fooling Around With Cinderella, about a marketing coordinator who gets coerced into playing Cinderella at a theme park for the summer. This is the first in my new Storybook Valley series so I will be focusing on developing more projects in the series.

7.  What do you think of the current explosion of self-publishing?

I think it’s a wonderful opportunity for authors and I am grateful to be part of it.  I recently gave a talk about self publishing at the local library and the aspiring writers in attendance were shocked at how easy it was to self-publish, as far as seeing your book listed at different retailers – and even more shocked at how much work it is to be successful at it. I think it’s a good match for authors who can see themselves as an entrepreneur and who are comfortable making all the business decisions.

8.  What advice do you have for other writers?

I recommend that they research all the options available to them, from the traditional publishing route to the ins and outs of self-publishing. I advise them to develop their craft through classes and critique partners and to also read up on marketing, branding and promotion. Being a writer isn’t just a creative profession; you’re also an entrepreneur and you need to treat it like a business.

Links: Sink or Swim retailers: Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sink-or-Swim-ebook/dp/B004GHN6CW/ref

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sink-or-swim-stacy-juba/1100588699?ean=2940012324771 I

Bookstore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id640267820

Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Sink-or-Swim/book-aXZ0A_WHRke5PB7VcunL1A/page1.html?s=sYx_czFatU2YYndOEKKoZA&r=5

Audible: http://www.audible.com/pd/ref=sr_1_5?asin=B00CO9M4J0&qid=1367976480&sr=1-5

Website: http://stacyjuba.com/blog/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Stacy-Juba/100155471301 Twitter https://twitter.com/stacyjuba

One response to “Author Interview: Stacy Juba

  1. Pingback: Crunch Bar Recipe, Kris Langley Speaks Out, YA Audiobook

Leave a Reply

