Book Review: Mutation Z, the Ebola Zombies

Marilyn

Book: Mutation Z: The Ebola Zombies

Author: Marilyn Peake

Genre: Horror

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Anyone who reads my blog enough knows that I like horror, dystopic, and disaster books. I actually had Ms. Peake on my blog a while back for an author interview, and she offered me a copy of her book to read and review. First I want to say that I’m incredibly picky about books that I’ll consider for review. Every book I read goes through the “sample” test. I read the first few chapters and see if it pulls me in. If it does, I keep reading. If not, I don’t. I can’t tell you how many samples haven’t pulled me in.

This one did. So that’s a credit to Peake’s writing ability.

I wish this book had gone a bit further than it did–the biggest thrill of an apocalypse novel is watching society break down and the terror of fighting the zombies, which this book never gets to. It’s really set up more as a short story with just a snappy ending. But I still enjoyed it.

I see this story appealing more to the YA crowd, because that’s the style of writing. The narrator is a young and inexperienced nurse and sees danger in every little thing. I found it amusing, but I an see where others might find it annoying.

So all in all, this was a bit of light-hearted fun peeking into the dark side of current events.

Leave a Reply

