Book Review: The Alloy of Law

brandon

Title: The Alloy of Law (A Mistborn Novel)

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Publisher: Macmillion

Genre: Fantasy (steampunk)

Rating: 5 out of 5

So this probably isn’t the typical first Brandon Sanderson novel that people read. I know he’s famous for his original Mistborn series, as well as helping out with the Wheel of Time series and some other stuff. But the steampunk side to this really intrigued me. I’m glad this was my introduction to his unique take on magic with metals and alloys.

Even better, this was a mystery-slash-suspense-slash rescue the kidnapped damsel in distress. All very Victorian, and very wonderfully realized. Those who have read the Mistborn series undoubtedly know all about the system of magic that Sanderson has created–some individuals, known as Allomancers have abilities tied to particular metals, including steel, pewter, gold, etc. They must ingest the metal in order to use their special abilities. There’s a lot more to it that that, but in general I found it fascinating.

In addition, Sanderson has some really great characters. Even the “damsel in distress” is not your typical damsel. She’s a cold and calculating woman who creates process procedures for everything. Including engagements and marriage.

I adored Wayne in particular, and his trials after losing his beloved bowler hat. It’s little idiosyncrasies like that that make the book enjoyable. I also like main character, even if I wanted to shoot him for the length of his first name. (Another point–there’s quite a bit of humor in the book as well.)

The book leaves things very open for a sequel or a series. I have to be honest. I’ve been a little tired of the whole medieval setting fantasy lately.

This book was a welcome change of pace and setting.

4 responses to “Book Review: The Alloy of Law

    • I loved this book! It was so funny and off-beat, and just enough steampunk to add to the mix. It made me read the entire Mistborn trilogy all at once, just to get a feel for Sanderson’s world, and I enjoyed it, too, though it wasn’t as funny. (You are so right about Wayne. He was a hoot. As for the name…if he hadn’t been Waxillium, we wouldn’t have had Wax and Wayne, which I found amusing all the way through the book. Great review!

      • I will have to check into the books. They looked really good.

      • They really were, though they do have a different feel to them than Alloy. I very much enjoyed them, but I have to say, I have mixed feelings about the end of the trilogy. I also read Sanderson’s YA fantasy, Steelheart, and I really enjoyed that one, too. But I’m longing for a sequel to Alloy. It was my favorite, just because it was so much fun.

Leave a comment