Author Interview: W. C. Hoffman

Yep, only one interview this week, but it’s a good one. Meet W. C. Hoffman, survivalist writer of military and mystery fiction. You can find out more about Hoffman here http://www.wchoffman.com/my-book-store.html .

hoffman

1. So what first got you writing?

My Uncle raised me to be an outdoorsman and survivalist in the absence of my birth father. Sadly, my Uncle took his own life and in my grieving process I began to write his story. My first novel Twins of Prey was molded from that first work I call, Uncle’s Story. In it there is a character named Uncle who lives off the grid and teaches his adopted twin sons the same types of things I was taught. The rest of the story is fiction but the character is very real. http://www.wchoffman.com/my-book-store.html

2.  So it looks like your Twins of Prey is a combination of military and mystery. How would you describe the books?

An off the grid action adventure where thrilling events lead to survival being the ultimate and only goal. When changing lives in not an option the twins begin to take them. It really boils down to the battle between nature vs. nurture. What side the reader takes will determine who they see as the protagonist. Either way a flawed hero will come into play.

3.  Do you have a background in the military?  If so, what?

I have no military background but I do have a decade long career in law enforcement.

4.  How did you come up with your characters?

Well Uncle is, my Uncle. The twins are a mixture of Mogwai for Kippling’s The Jungle Book and Atreyu from The Never Ending Story. Each one of the Sheriff deputies is mixture of various officers I have worked with over the years.

5.  Who is your favorite writer and why?

*EASY ANSWER* Gary Paulsen, The Hatchet series of books are what made me fall in love with reading for the first time. I still read them every other year for inspiration.

6.  What are you working on now?

Twins of Prey II Homecoming is set for release on 10/20/14 so I am currently working on Twins of Prey III. I also have a historical fiction idea that I wrote as a short story in high school burning away in my mind just screaming to be told in full. That will be my next series for sure. I have plans to purposely write a cheesy paranormal romance under a pen name as a gift for my wife. A shape shifting female cop that using her skills to seduce and lock up criminals. If it sells great! If not that is okay too.

7.  What have you learned about self publishing so far?

There is a sense of community in the self pub world and you better use it! Everyone, yes EVERYONE I have had the pleasure to talk with or be interviewed by has always been positive. I think kboards, blogs, and the popular podcasts that are out there are fantastic resources. I may not be a better writer because of them but I am for sure a more successful writer thanks to them.

8.  What advice do you have for other writers?

Read my answer to the question above, join the communities. Become a fan and invest in learning what works.

Leave a Reply

