Author Interview: Pablo Solares Acebal

Today for my author interview I have something a little different–a writer from Spain who has begun self publishing in the U.S. and other countries through Amazon. You can find out more about Pablo Solares Acebal on his website here:

pablo

1. What first made you want to write?

I really wanted to writes stories which I haven’t read. I am very selective when it comes to reading… I love it but for some reason I realize that I needed to fill in my blank page.

2.  So you’re from Spain?  Tell me about that.

Indeed. I am Spanish and I am currently living here. I have studied a Degree in English Studies and Translation as well.

3.  I see you have your first book, “The 6th of November” listed as Horror, but the blurb makes it sound more like historical fiction or maybe literary. How would you describe the book?

I think it is a purely horror story set during the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939). At the same time, it is historical fiction. Writing about the past is a way of showing that time is quite subjective.

4.  What made you want to write about the Spanish Civil War?

There are many stories and experiences which remain untold. Elder people knows a lot because they are still traumatized by the conflict. They were kids at the time and many stories and anecdotes from that time are what I call ‘silenced voices’. Reality became an horror book.

5.  What are you working on now?

I have my second novel, The House of Good Intentions, coming out in November. It is being translated by Barbara R. Cochran, a prestigious translator who has done classical works into English as well, like Dona Perfecta by Benito Perez Galdosl. I am also working as Associate Producer of the movie The 6th of November to be filmed in 2015. Also, I plan to start writing my third novel son, despite I have some ideas in mind.

6.  Who is your favorite writer and why?

I need I wanted to be a writer when I watched Nicole Kidman playing Virginia Woolf in ‘The Hours’. Later on, I started reading her. She was a genius. Unfortunately, she was underrated but well ahead of her time.

7.  I understand you had some acclaim in Spain and South America. How did that come about?

I think it was a bit of luck, since I was not happy with the editing of my book. Now, it is published the way I wanted it to be. I was supported by major literary blogs in Spanish language. It’s funny because well before publication I imagined what could be the reviews like and, months later, they commented the same aspects I considered important.

8.  What advice do you have for other writers, particularly outside the U.S.?

Translation is the key I guess. Sometimes books are tough to sell and it requires an huge time investment but, if you believe in your work, it’s up to you.

Leave a Reply

