Book Review: Song of Susanna (Dark Tower #6)

Book:  Song of Susanna

Series: Dark Tower #6

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Genre: Dark Fantasy?  Sci-fi Western? It sort of defies genre.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

(Spoilers ahead!!)

Typically I like to pace myself when reading, because I don’t like to get through a book too quickly. I like spending the time in a book’s world. Typically, I don’t have a problem controlling my pace. Alas, however, Stephen King likes to throw me off. I find myself reading more quickly and more pages per day in order to find out what happens next. And this is why I so love Stephen King as a writer.

This book made me laugh out loud, not because of any particular humor in the book, but because the fourth wall was not only breached; it was shattered into a million pieces. I can’t say I’ve read too many examples of a writer writing himself into a plot, but yep, King went there. And it made me smile to have him poking fun at himself, highlighting his weaknesses and fallacies including drinking and his New England ways. I continue to love Roland, Eddie, Jake and yes, Susanna too, although I suspect she may not be long for this world. But since the book ends on another sort-of cliffhanger, I had to go immediately get the final book in the series. I always considered “The Stand” to be King’s finest work. But this one just might top that. We’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

