Review: Bloody Mary, by J. A. Konrath

Konrath

Book:  Bloody Mary

Series: Jack Daniels

Author: J. A. Konrath

Publisher: J. A. Konrath

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Rating: 4 out of 5

I enjoyed the first of the Jack Daniel mystery series, so I picked up the second one. Now I have to preface this review by saying that my introduction into mystery series began when I was nine and I read EVERY SINGLE Nancy Drew book ever written. 126 books, to be exact. That gave me a pretty firm idea of what to expect from a mystery novel. I also enjoy series like Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, which is madcap zany adventure with a healthy dose of humor.

Konrath’s series has humor as well, but it’s also edge of your seat suspense and a little gore as well. I spent a lot of time worrying about the fates of not only the main character, Jacqueline Daniels, but pretty much every person around her from her partner to her mother and both her potential love interests. The bad guy is really bad, and worse, he’s crazy. There’s an interesting subcurrent in the book about mental health covering everything from deciding when it’s time to let others care for you as you get older to mid-life crisis to just plain nutso killer-gone-crazy. I liked how Konrath gave lives and problems to not just the key characters but their friends and family as well. It felt more real.

I think it was because of this that I found Bloody Mary enjoyable. Sure there’s a serial killer. And there’s Jack, trying to catch him. But as they say, the devil’s in the details. This book has some very nice details.

 

Leave a Reply

