Author Interview: K.J. Bryen

After a discussion over on Kboards.com, I decided to start up the weekly indie/small press author interview series again!  You may recognize a face or two, but most of these writers have not appeared on my blog. Check them out!

Today’s interview is with K. J. Bryen, who is debuting with her first book out on September 12. You can find out more about the book and author at her webpage here:  http://kjbryen.moonfruit.com/

lokte

1.  So what made you want to write a book?

Hi and thanks for having me here! I’ve always wanted to write a book, ever since I was old enough to write. It’s always been my dream.

2.  I understand your first novel, a supernatural thriller, is coming out in September. What can you tell me about it?

Lokte follows Marianne Garcia, a struggling actress in New York City. For her, everything seems hopeless; until she meets Logan Lokte. Logan offers her everything she has ever dreamed of. All she has to do in return is sign a contract. Marianne doesn’t believe in magic or miracles. Yet, one thing soon becomes clear to her: Logan Lokte is not a normal man. The decision she makes sends them both plunging into a spiral where choices become crucial, and evil comes from within.

3.  What made you interested in this genre?

I’m honestly not sure. I hadn’t read much of this genre prior; I just had an idea and I ran with it. I only found out after finishing it that my novel was comparable to the genre that Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti dominate; Christian Supernatural Thrillers.

4. Supernatural seems big these days. Why do you think that is?

You know, I’ve wondered that myself. I know that the supernatural has always drawn me, ever since I was a kid. It’s just great stuff to wonder and dream about. It takes you to a whole new reality where anything can happen.

5.  Besides writing, what other things interest you?

I pretty much love anything where I can be creative. I especially love singing and acting, which I was involved with immensely in high school. I also like cooking, reading, design, party planning, drawing, etc.

6.  Who is your favorite writer, and why?

Oh, that’s a hard question! I honestly don’t know. There’s too many good writers to choose from. I will say, my favorite supernatural thriller writer so far would probably be Ted Dekker; my favorite young adult author right now is Libba Bray.

7. What are you working on next?

I’ll actually be shifting genres with my next project. I’m working on a young adult horror series, which I’m very excited about! After that, I have another supernatural thriller in mind.

8.  Who in your life do you think had the greatest impact on you, and why?

Maybe this is cliche, but I would have to say my parents. Seriously, if they hadn’t been so supportive of my dreams growing up, I wouldn’t be where I’m at. They made me believe that I was capable of anything.

9.  What have your learned so far on your publishing journey? Any advice for other writers out there?

I’ve learned so much, and I’m still learning every day. My biggest advice I guess would be to become the best writer you can be. Seek criticism, and use the advice you think is helpful. Also, when trying to spread the word about your book, I’ve found the best way to do that is to really connect with people. Meet people and get to know them first. Then, if they like you as a person, they’ll probably want to read your book.

 

Leave a Reply

