Review: Dr. Sleep, by Stephen King

sleep

Book: Dr. Sleep

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Genre: Horror / Thriller

Rating: 4 out of 5

I’ve mentioned before on this blog that I’m trying to read through many of Stephen King’s books. I really like his style (some don’t, but I do), and I really like the kind of storytelling that he does. I had my eye on this particular book since finishing Under the Dome when a sneak preview was included at the end. The preview hooked me enough that I actually went back and read The Shining so that I had the true and complete backstory to this novel.

Just as a book of its own, I enjoyed it. Sure, there was the running theme of a recovering alcoholic, but Dan was a nice contrast to his father. I still love the whole concept of the Shining, and this book takes those extra-sensory powers  several steps further, not only with the introduction of a new child character, Abra, who can levitate spoons and write on chalkboards with her mind, but also the True Knot, an evil psychic threat who feed off children like Abra.

I thought the resolution was clean, all the plot threads came together nicely, and I was left satisfied. For what it’s worth, I wouldn’t mind if King continued to write novels in this particular universe every ten or fifteen years with each generation.

This book fit more in line with books like The Stand or 11/22/63, so don’t expect to be scared out of your mind. It’s more of a thriller novel. As such, I recommend it.

2 responses to “Review: Dr. Sleep, by Stephen King

  1. I’ve never read any Stephen King books, but I want to so badly. Doctor Sleep sounds awesome, so I’ll be adding it to my TBR list. Great review.

    • I’d definitely recommend reading the Shining first. I saw the movie (both versions) but there are some major differences between the movies and the book that are pertinent to Danny’s history. Glad you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

