Author Interview: Abby Vandiver

Today’s interview some early due to the holiday. Abby Vandiver is a fantasy and science fiction writer whose first book has had quite a few good reviews. You can learn more about Abby at Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7155622.Abby_L_Vandiver

And a very happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I’ll be back next week; I’m headed to California this evening to visit family.

abby

1. What led to you writing your first book?

It was in 1997 and I had just lost my job and was really depressed. I had moved my eighty year old mother in and along with my two teenage children I worried about what I was going to do. But, instead of looking for a job, I said, “I’m going to write a book.” I don’t know what came over me. I can’t even remember where the idea for the first book came from. The book got lost somehow, and didn’t resurface until 2011 when my daughter found it in her garage. As a legacy to my mother, who passed away in 1998, I dusted it off and got it published.

2. You describe “In the Beginning” as a cross between historical and science fiction. Why is that?

To make my sci-fi story more believable I used actual scientific facts. In the Beginning tells makes its case using real events from NASA, ancient mysteries, and the history of species development on Earth.

3. What kind of research did you do on this book?

I did tons of research on this book. Remember, I wrote it in 1997 and the Internet wasn’t what it is today. I can remember spending hours in the local library looking through books on travel, evolution, space missions, Mars and languages. I learned so much. And I do get that from readers, they often mentioned that it’s evident that a lot of research went into the book. But I enjoyed every minute of it.

4. Tell me about the book.

Well, as we talked about, it is a mystery/sci-fi that mixes fact with fiction. Overall, it gives a different point of view of what happened “in the beginning.” But within its pages it deals with depression, family, faith, the environment, and man’s need to dominate. The book is not action packed or fast paced, but it’ll make you laugh and make you think. You’ll find yourself researching what you find in the book to see if it’s true. And I guarantee that you won’t find another book anywhere with it’s same premise.

5. Who is your favorite writer, and why?

I am my favorite writer. Can I say that? I went to school for so very long, (I have three degrees) and I really had lost the joy reading brought because everything I read I was later tested on. Once, I published my book I did start to read for enjoyment again but I haven’t found any one author that I could say is my favorite.

6. What are you working on next?

I’m working on two things. One is a sequel to In the Beginning. It is called The Westbury End Book Club and will be out late this year. The other book will be the first in a series of books based loosely on my family. The title of that book is 1203.

7. What did you learn in publishing your book?

Oh my goodness, that editing is so hard. It’s harder than writing the book. You go over your book so many times and still there is something that needs correcting or changing. I decided that on my next two books, I am going to get everything right the first time and not have to go back and edit one word!

8. Have you done any promoting? If so, what?

I try to promote at every opportunity I get. Sort of like people are with their pets and children, they tell everyone about them and show lots of pictures. I was in the hospital recently for two weeks, had two different surgeries, but everytime someone new came in my room, doctor, nurse, food service, I told them about my book! And then the usual, social media platforms. Right now I have a special on my eBook at Amazon for $.99. I also plan on doing giveaways, getting reviews and doing interviews. By the way, thank you very much for doing this interview with me.

Leave a Reply

