Book Review: The Soulkeepers

Soulkeeper

Book: The Soulkeepers (The Soulkeepers Series)

Author: G.P. Ching

Publisher: Carpe Luna, 5th Ed.

Genre: Fantasy (YA fantasy)

This is one of those permanently free offered books that you can grab on Kindle. I’m generally leery of these types of books. I’ve tried several freebies, and haven’t been impressed.

But this one is different.

At first it seemed like a pretty typical fantasy. Boy is alone in the world, discovers things are not as they seem, obtains special powers, a mentor, and a romantic interest. What makes this book better than so many fantasy books out there, however, is the world that Ching has crafted. The main character, Jacob, is a Horseman, basically part human and part angel, with a duty to protect mankind from the fallen angels and other baddies who want to harm them. Questions concerning good and evil, faith and guilt all come into play, as Jacob must decide if he believes in himself enough to be able to save those he cares about. He starts out an angry, lonely teen and comes out very changed.

I’ll be honest. I didn’t like the main character, Jacob, in the beginning. I thought he was kind of a jerk, actually, and his anger was off-putting. What drew me in was the mystery of the woman living in the Victorian house across the street, the mystery of her. I’d say she’s what pulls everything together in this first book of the series. By the end, the reader understands why this woman terrifies as well as comforts, and Jacob becomes someone you can root for wholeheartedly.

It takes a lot to draw me into a series. I’m a busy person. I don’t have a lot of time to read, so I want to read only the best, things that really fire me up. I say this freebie was impressive because it does make me want to continue to learn more about Jacob’s story. There have been controversies about offering the first book of a series either as free or as severely reduced. Most of the time, I’m skeptical about such practices. But in this case, I think the gamble pays off. I think that not only because I tried a writer that I might not have otherwise tried, but also because I’ve talked to other Kindle owners. They too have downloaded this book. So it’s not just me.

I give this book four out of five stars, which is about the best I give for any new writer. Excellent job–you nailed it.

One response to “Book Review: The Soulkeepers

  1. Love discovering new books, and new writers. Thanks for the recommendation. I just downloaded it and will read soon.

Leave a Reply

