Author Interview: Mary Waibel

waibel2

As I said on Monday, this week you get two author interviews! Today it is Mary Waibel, a fairly new fantasy writer with a couple books out. You can find more about her on Goodreads here: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6456213.Mary_Waibel

1.  How did you first become a writer?

I’ve dabbled in writing for awhile. In college I had a professor encourage me to try creative writing as she really enjoyed my descriptive writing pieces. I didn’t take the courses, as they didn’t fit in my curriculum, but I did keep writing.

2.  I understand that your fantasy novel, “Quest of the Hart” sprang from the Sleeping Beauty tale. What drew you to that story?

It was suggested by a friend that I write a tale about the girly-girl saving the prince. As I thought about the suggestion, I kept thinking about different fairy tales, and the paths the prince took to save the princess. The spell, the quest for the needed items (usually magical), and the battle with the evil doer.  Sleeping Beauty had all these elements and one more-the princess could only be wakened by her true love. Being a sucker for romance, and happily-ever-afters, I knew this was the tale I needed to use.

3.  Tell me about the book.

As mentioned above, Quest of the Hart is a reverse Sleeping Beauty tale, where the princess goes on the quest to save the prince. When Prince Devlin is placed under a spell by his sister, Princess Arabella, Princess Kaylee must choose-let all of the kingdom fall under the spell, or go on a quest to save the prince and his kingdom. 

4.  Who do you see as your audience with this book, and why?

Quest of the Hart is geared toward young adults- I’d say 12 and up. There’s some kissing, hinted at feelings and innuendo, as well as some violence (blood, enchanted daggers). 

5.  Who is your favorite writer, and why?

Going by my bookshelf, I’d have to say Nora Roberts. I just fall in love with the characters she creates- especially all the family based series she’s written. Lisa Shearin and Patricia Briggs are two other go to reads when I need a familiar friend in a story.

6.  Tell me about what you’re working on next.

I am currently working with a CP (critique partner) on getting the third book in the Princess of Valendria series ready for submission. Charmed Memories, the second book in the series, releases in August. Each book in the series is a stand alone novel, following a different set of characters. A companion novel, if you will. 

I’m also working on a paranormal fantasy with Faeries and Sorceresses.

7.  What was your process in getting your book published?

I queried for an agent with a version of Quest of the Hart that wasn’t ready. After several ‘no’s’, I went to work on a different project and queried that. This garnered some interest, but ultimately no bites. I went back to Quest, and rewrote the entire story. Then I sent it out to some small publishers who accepted from un-agented authors. In the meantime, I researched self-publishing. When I received the offer from MuseItUp, I was ecstatic, but I had to ask for time, as my MS(manuscript) was still out with other publishers. I contacted them with a deadline to hear back. I didn’t hear back, and I happily signed with MuseItUp. The experience has been incredible. The staff there is quite talented and very easy to work with. They have their authors best interests in mind with all they do.

8.  What advice do you have for other writers?

Never give up. Keep at it, even when it seems you’re getting nowhere. To paraphrase Nora Roberts, you can’t fix what you haven’t written. So, write. Edit. Edit some more. Get feedback. And then send your efforts out into the world. You never know what will happen.

Judy thank you so much for having me here. I’ve really enjoyed this interview.

One response to “Author Interview: Mary Waibel

  1. Thank you so much for having me here today Judy.

Leave a Reply

