Results of Free promotion days–Round Two!

Image

So the first time I did a KDP Select free day promotion I received lackluster results–only about 250 downloads and maybe one or two real sales afterwards. As part of my ending the book’s enrollment in KDP Select and offering it again on places like Smashwords and Barnes and Noble, I decided to give the free promo one more try, and offered it again for free on June 20 and 21. I had received just one additional positive review since the first promotion.

What a difference that little review made!!!

I sent out requests to feature the book to about 25 sites, about the same as last time. I was preparing for a trip so I didn’t even post on Facebook–not a single thing!  I only blogged about it once and tweeted about it once. But this time I was featured on better sites, and the results were profound. By the end of the two day promotion I had 3500 downloads. I made #1 in both my sub-categories, #4 in all of Amazon’s free Fantasy books, and #126 of all Kindle free books. Over the next week, I made 25 real sales, my best week ever.

So my takeaway is this–reviews matter. I actually gained another two reviews during the promo, and I’m hoping for more later. I think it also helped when I tweaked the cover just enough to make the title legible in thumbprint size. Sales may drop down again, but now I’ve made enough money to pay for my next book’s cover, so I’m pretty happy about that. (And this for a $200 cover from a digital artist, not a simple stock photo one).

If you’ve read the book but haven’t left a review, I ask that you please say something, even if it’s short. I’ll continue to write my own reviews of books I’ve finished as well as featuring new writers each week in interviews. I have one last chapter to write on my next book, so I’ll be plugging away at that. Hopefully in a few months I’ll have the preview of the cover to showcase here. I think this book will actually have a wider appeal than my first. Why?  Twins! Magic! Five book series! It’s going to be a hell of a ride.

One response to “Results of Free promotion days–Round Two!

  1. I think this is a great post. Thanks so much for posting and for sharing this info. I thought I had your book, but I don’t think I do. I’ll have to search my kindle again. Have a great day!

    Paul R. Hewlett

Leave a Reply

