Mayan Ruin, oh My!

Image

It’s funny how life works, some times. Several years ago, I had a vivid dream about wandering around a Mayan temple and looking at the carvings of gods within it, and the brilliant blue Caribbean sea outside. It felt so real, I almost thought it might be something like a past life. Inspired by the dream, I jotted down an idea for a novella.

I delayed writing that novella for years because I wanted to actually visit a Mayan ruin, to see what one actually looked like. After years of trying to find a way to make that happen, I decided to hell with it and just write the damn story. I wrote it last year and sent it around to a few magazine. Not surprisingly for a story of its length, it wasn’t purchased, so now I’m ready to self-publish it.

And then just last weekend, my sister got married in Cancun. I flew down to see the wedding, and on a spur of the moment idea, booked a half day tour to Tulum, a Mayan ruin just down the coast.

There was my Mayan ruin from the dream, complete with pretty blue ocean and cliffs.

Funny how life works, isn’t it?

Even funnier, I spent $3 on a stock image photo of a Mayan temple to use for the cover of the novella, and here I could have used some of my own photos I took this last weekend. Which I might still use.

I’m not sure if there’s really a point to this post other than to say don’t let research or life ever hold you back from writing. Write the story, and who knows what will happen? I’m happy that I did do enough research while writing to get details about the heat and the jungle right (ugh, humidity!), and my trip there only confirmed things I’d already envisioned.

So go write!

2 responses to “Mayan Ruin, oh My!

  1. WOW Judy, what a STUNNING setting, I’ve never seen these temples in any settings other than forests or deserts, thank you for posting it 🙂

  2. The resort locale for the Mayans of the time. Oh to have been there.

Leave a Reply

