Author Interview: Michael Brookes

Image

As the first installment of my new feature interviewing indie authors, I have Michael Brookes with me today, to talk about himself and his latest projects. You can find his profile here on Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6452691.Michael_Brookes

  1. So how did you start write stories?
    I’ve written short stories since a very young age, although it’s only recently that I’ve made the effort to share them with people. In fairness if it hadn’t been for the support of a few other writer’s who told me that my writing was worth developing I wouldn’t have progressed beyond that stage.2. Where do you get your inspiration for your fiction?
    My inspiration comes from things I’ve read, for example ‘Paradise Lost’ has been a huge influence on my current trilogy. I also like trying to answer questions that I have about the world around me. And I have great fun with bad characters doing good things for the wrong reasons.3. You seem to enjoy a dark tone to several of your works. Why do you think that is?
    In many ways I think the darker side of life is more fun to explore. That’s partly to do with the taboo of it, many people shy away from looking too closely at the darkness around us.

    To an extent it’s also coloured by my understanding of the world and on more than a few occasions I have been in very dark places. Being able to explore that in the relative safety of writing is fun.

    4. Tell me about your latest novel.
    My latest novel is due for release in the next couple of weeks. It’s called Faust 2.0 and concerns the birth of a new entity on the Internet. Is it an emergent AI? Or is it a more ancient evil discovering a new domain.

    It’s also the first book in a new series that I’m looking forward to developing.

    5. Your book “The Cult of Me” includes discussions of religion and good vs. evil. Tell me more about that.
    I’m not a religious person, but the concept of religion, or rather theological structures and explanations fascinates me.

    The Cult of Me (and the sequels) is insipired by ‘Paradise Lost’. With it I wanted to create a world where God as an entity exists and fits in with our understanding of the universe. I also wanted to explore why he would create a universe and then leave it to its own devices.

    6. What are you working on next?
    I’ve just started a science fiction novel tentatively called Sun Dragon. It’s a bout the first manned mission to Mars and things go downhill from there.

    7. Who is your favorite writer, and why?
    A tough question! My favourite author is probably Ian M Banks, his book Excession is my favourite book ever written. It epitomises everything that is great about science fiction. Terry Pratchett and Clive Barker would also get honourable mentions.

    8. What kind of a writer are you? Outlines or write the story blind?
    For novels I am a planner. I like to know where the story is going and a rough idea of the characters. Of course it evolves once I start writing. For shorter works I tend to just dive in.

You can find Michael Brookes at his author page on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Michael-Brookes/e/B008OGD8KG/

Leave a Reply

