Book Review: Besieged (The Outcast Chronicles)

Image

Book: Besieged

Series: The Outcast Chronicles

Author: Rowena Cory Daniels

Publisher: Solaris

Length: 500 pgs

Genre: Fantasy (Epic Fantasy)

I wanted to like this book, I really did. The cover art is gorgeous and that’s what drew me in. I was disappointed, however, that it took so long for anything to really happen in the story. It also took a long time before I started to connect to any of the characters because the book begins before they really exist as viewpoint characters. I think I would have preferred that the book start with them at an age where they can think and feel and leave everything before that to flashback or backstory. The ending also is not an ending. I realize this is a series. but I detest cliffhanger endings. It felt more like a chapter ending than a book.

Even in cliffhanger endings like the end of “Empire Strikes Back” you have resolution–Luke Skywalker has been saved and his wounds have been healed, and Princess Leia is safe. There’s still the issue of saving Han Solo, but it’s a break in the action with plans being made for the next. If I were to compare this book’s ending, it would be ending right as Lando drove them away from the city. It’s missing that final closure scene.

So for all the length to actually get anywhere, I’m not really enticed into buying the next book. It was an okay read with some interesting concepts, a very interesting world and a lot of politics and maneuvering, but it’s just not for me.

One response to “Book Review: Besieged (The Outcast Chronicles)

  1. Good to read a lukewarm review. I just started reading reviews by various reviewers and most of them are positive to exuberant.
    I’m going to send a sample to my kindle and see what I think.

Leave a Reply

