Life’s little bumps

Funny how life will be going on fairly smoothly, without any big surprises for a long time, and then bam! Life throws you a curve ball.

That happened this weekend for me, when my best friend was admitted to the hospital. I spent a greater part of the weekend there, and I have to say it is an entirely different universe inside those walls. Time seems to flow differently, as you try to puzzle out the problems of the body. Focus changes from all the mundane things in life to what can be the most important, our relationships with each other.

Naturally this put a dent in my weekly writing goal, but I’m at least happy that I wrote 800 words for the first little half-week of the year. Sales on the new book have been light but at least they’re there. I really haven’t had much time for promotion, so I’m following some of the more experienced writers out there in just concentrating on more words to publish. I notice that even Joe Konrath in his latest blog entry backed off from promotions.

Crisis is now averted, but it reminds me of how fragile life can be. I think I agree with Thomas Edison that I only wish I could exist on about three hours of sleep a night to get all the things accomplished that I want to do. In the meantime, however, I try to take pleasure on that which I’ve already achieved.

One last note–I’m awaiting the final proof copy of my trade paperback version of Heart of the Witch. Once I approve that, all things are go to begin sales of the physical books. Eventually I’ll also figure out how to get it into audio book format and then I’ll consider this project officially done.

 

 

800 / 100000 words. 1% done!

One response to “Life’s little bumps

  1. I am sorry to hear about your friend and am glad to hear they are now doing better. Good luck with your book sales and current projects!

Leave a Reply

