2013 Goals and Resolutions

Tis the season for New Year’s Resolutions, and after reading a very insightful blog post by Dean Wesley Smith, I decided to go ahead and announce my goals for writing for 2013.

1.  Write at least 2000 words per week. This is a modest goal, I know, totaling only about 100,000 new words for the year. However, this would be an increase from 2012, which was actually a decent year for me, with about 75,000 words written. I plan to post a word count each week on my blog to track my progress.

2. Finish my second novel and publish it, and publish at least five shorter projects. This is absolutely doable, as my novel only has about two or three chapters left to go, leaving plenty of time for rewriting, cover design, formatting,and marketing. This one will be the first of a series of five books, and I’m very excited about it.

3. Blog at least once a week. I already do this, and plan to continue. Actually, I’m going to try to update twice a week but post at least a minimum of once per week. Coming up will be more book reviews, author guest spots, and perhaps a short story or two.

4. Attend a writer’s convention. I used to do this about once a year when I was in my twenties, but then life sort of got in the way. There are local ones, so there’s really no excuse; I just have to plan out the time. Plus it’s a great chance to market myself and learn a few things!

5. Read about twenty-five books or so. I read more last year than in several years previous, thanks to the purchase of my Kindle and being able to carry it around everywhere I go. With the new world of posting reviews and building relationships between writers, I think it is important to continue reading. It also helps develop your craft and keeps you abreast of the latest trends.

And that’s about it, I think!  I’m not making goals towards marketing because that is something I will have to fit in around my writing time. At this point I am going to follow other writers’ advice and focus mostly on getting more product out there, and try not to worry about sales numbers. I have some positive reviews, and that’s nice. I will try to get more.

2 responses to “2013 Goals and Resolutions

  1. Thank you for the follow and good luck on your 2013 goals!

  2. Pingback: A review of my 2013 goals | Judy Goodwin

Leave a Reply

