Slow going

Image

“Slow” seems to be the word of the week.  First, because while visiting with family over the Thanksgiving holiday, I contracted strep throat and had to rest in bed a lot. The word “slow” has also been coming to me lately to describe the whole process of publishing a book, particularly a print one with any kind of a promotion or marketing campaign. Of course, this all assumes that you have a day job, a family, etc. In other words, not a lot of spare time.

So the review requests trickle out, and then hopefully the acceptances for reviews trickle in. The press reviews go out, probably without much impact. The second proof is coming in the mail with my adjustments to the cover, and now it’s pretty much a waiting game until I can get the whole shebang up on Amazon for sale. The worst part is that when I’m sick, I find it nearly impossible to write, so that has pretty much crawled to a standstill, for this week at least. Here’s hoping next week is better.

The best news right now is that my daughter asked to read my first proof copy and told me in a bold voice this morning that it has a GREAT beginning that hooked her right away.  Go me!

Leave a Reply

