Review: Gifted, by Liz Long

Image

Author: Liz Long

Title:  Gifted: A Donovan Circus Novel

Year published: 2012

This was a very enjoyable read. Liz Long has created a very likeable character in Lucy, a firestarter trying to reconnect with own kind those Gifted with special abilities. The book was fast-paced and fun with just enough romance to keep things interesting. Though the setting is in a circus, we actually don’t get to see a lot of acts, which hopefully will be featured more in future books. This was more like an introduction to the world and characters. I particularly liked the characters and the relationships that the author creates between them. My daughter, who is twelve, doesn’t have an ebook yet but once she does I’m definitely recommending this to her. I also hope that Ms. Long considers the possibility of a print version at some point.

I had only one minor issue, and that was with the formatting. I’m hoping the problem has since been fixed–I obtained my copy during a free promo. The text came out incredibly small on my Kindle and I was always having to resize to be able to read it. The marketing person in me also thinks the cover text could be a bit clearer, but that’s just aesthetics.

All in all, lots of fun, and fire!

Leave a Reply

