The Next Big Thing: Blog Hop

Okay, I was invited to this by Jeanne M. Bannon; as a way for writers to talk about their works in progress or things that are coming out shortly.  Who knows, one of us may be the next J.K. Rowling or Stephen King? I’m still looking for a few more authors to join this hop so if you’re interested, leave me a comment and I’ll be happy to include a link to your blog below where you can answer the same questions.

We are blog hopping our way through some new reads.  For those who aren’t familiar with a blog hop . . .  it’s kind of like a treasure hunt – once you find something on one blog you hop on over to the next blog link for more treasure.  In this case, the treasure is a wealth of new and exciting books.  Some are still being written, some are just being released.

Image

What is the working title of your book?    Heart of the Witch.  This book will be coming out in ebook form soon, like December 1st, 2012. I plan to have the print version available in January.

Where did the idea come from for the book? 

The idea for this book came several years ago, based on books I was reading at the time and my own interest in history and other cultures. I wanted a fantasy that was different that the typical medieval knights and dragons kind of thing. I realized that in American history there was a perfect scenario—the Salem Witch Trials, when everyone believed in witches but it wasn’t real. What if there was a colony in a similar time period but in a world where magic really was real? That was the basis of my story.

What genre does your book fall under?  

Solidly under Fantasy.  There is romance in the book as well, but that’s a subplot.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  

Wow, there’s a good question. Zerrick Dhur, the main character, is too pretty for his own good but actually hates that, with his black hair and pale blue eyes. Ben Barnes would be a possibility, except he has the wrong color eyes. Zac Efron actually had a close coloration too, but I’m not sure he has the acting talent.  For Mira, I could see someone like Emma Watson or Carey Mulligan—petite, not classically beautiful, but with that inner fire.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

In a world where magic is real and witches are burned at the stake, Zerrick must decide whether the heart of magic will lead him to good, or to evil.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  No.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  Yikes, this is an embarrassing question, because I actually started the book in college and then had a family and all kinds of things before I actually came to the decision to publish it myself. Ahem . . . about five years for the initial draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I see some similarities with Katherine Kurtz due to her historical details in her books, including “Deryni Rising.”  I see a little of Mercedes Lackey in there as well, with the angsty main character, such as in her Valdemar series. The main character is a young adult–twenty-one, so I see this as appealing to both adults and young adults, but the style is very detailed, more like “Lord of the Rings” than “Hunger Games”.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? 

I’ve been writing books since I was nine years old, and reading them as well.  I read “The Hobbit” at age ten, “Lord of the Rings” at age eleven, and then took off from there. I actually wrote my first book in high school, a trilogy, but realized it wasn’t publishable when I entered college to earn my Bachelor degree in Creative Writing.  It has been a life long dream for me to be a writer.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

The land of Argessa where the story takes place is based on the continent of Australia, and the natives are based on Aborigines. I actually crafted a language for them that is also loosely based on Aborigine. You won’t find any sex in this story but there is plenty of swash-buckling against creatures in the jungle, daring Star-Wars-like rescues, and an Obi-Wan-like figure. I had a lot of fun inserting a little humor into the relationship between Zerrick and Mira. Zerrick, as the son of the town pastor, tends to fret a bit and worry about his actions but Mira is headstrong and fiery. They make a great pair.

List of my tagged blog hop buds for next week.  Check out their blogs next Wednesday to read about their WIPs and New Releases:
<a href=http://bookofthedarned.wordpress.com/>L Kelly</a>
3 responses to “The Next Big Thing: Blog Hop

  1. How do you keep your wits about you when writing a book? 5 years! That takes some insane motivation and for that, I applaud you. I get distracted easily and have many a short story that I can’t even finish, let alone concentrate for years at a time. I would love some tips 🙂 Mind you, I think my hectic lifestyle doesn’t help my distracted nature 😛

    • Part of it was that I wrote full notebooks about the world and the characters I created. Even when life was busy, I could always go back to those to sort of refresh my memory of things. I also always make an outline, although I don’t always stick to it and may modify it a lot.

      Mostly I think writers just have to love to write, and have to love the book idea to stick with it long enough to finish. These days I just try to get in an hour of writing a day, around my full time job and full time family.

      • Great idea to have notebooks of your characters. I currently have a little book I use to collect all my recipe ideas and thoughts on how I can improve them.

        Good to know that an hour of writing a day is your norm. I think sometimes I balk at the idea of sitting down and writing for hours at a time because I just don’t have that luxury. Thanks again for your tips!

Leave a Reply

