Can I take a break from Vampires?

Image

Today I started reading a short story from a writer’s group I belong to, and just as I started becoming interested in the plot, up he popped. A vampire. In the story. I wanted to turn off my computer right away.

Now I have to preface this with something.  I like vampires. Heck, it used to be that you couldn’t keep me away from a vampire book or movie. Starting with the hilarious Love At First Bite, I would head out to see any vampire flick I could find.  Clive Barker. Anne Rice. Bram Stoker. Not to mention the fun movies from the 80’s like Salem’s Lot, The Hunger, and Lost Boys.

But I think I may have reached critical mass. I’m not sure exactly what did it–it might have been watching the third Twilight movie (or reading the series), or it might have been shows like  True Blood ,The Vampire Diaries or My Babysitter’s a Vampire.Or maybe it’s just that it seems like every single new YA novel out there (particularly indie) features vampires and werewolves.  But I’ve just come to this point now where I’m sick of them.

I need a break.

And it’s not that the stories are good, bad, or anything.  Like I said, I always liked vampires.  But sometimes in the middle of a fad, I think people just get fed up of having too much of something.  It’s like dining on nothing but steak.  Sooner or later, you crave a change.

I just have to wonder, however, why it seems the supernatural is SO popular these days, particularly in YA fiction. Do our young people crave more risk and danger in their lives?  I know my pre-teen is overprotected, and in fact I’m trying to step back, give her more independence. But it just makes me wonder.  Maybe we’re so removed from reality that we crave that violent, bloody hunger that vampires so embody?

I’ll leave the pondering for now.  And I’ll avoid vampires in the media like they avoid sunlight, until my aversion fades away.

One response to “Can I take a break from Vampires?

  1. I totally agree! They are everywhere along with zombies. I think I heard somewhere, and I can’t remember where, that horror-esque and superhero movies do really well during times of national crisis, i.e. economy. I wonder if that holds true for books.

Leave a Reply

