Beginnings and endings

Writing has been a struggle this week, most likely due to an impromptu vacation to Long Beach over the weekend.  It made me think, however, of the various strengths writers may have when it comes to projects and their progress through the various parts.  For myself, I have always had a hard time with endings.  Give me a blank page any day of the week–I love starting a new story, a new book, etc.  I love introducing the characters and the plot and the setting.  It’s the wrapping up of all the loose strings at the end that gives me the shakes. I always worry that my endings are not going to be satisfying or too rushed, or just simply too neat.

I think there is also a part of me that doesn’t want to say goodbye and move on to the next project.

This in turn makes me think of great endings in books and movies.  The ultimate ending?  I think that was the Lord of the Rings (which of course some people have said actually has about four or five endings.)  The worst ending?  I’ve probably blocked that from my mind, but one I can think of was the original Hans Christian Anderson tale of the Little Mermaid.  Ugh.  Let’s crown all this suffering with a stupid allegory.  And this is not to say that I don’t like tragic endings.  I loved Hair, the musical, which still makes me cry every time I see it.  Oedipus Rex was a great tragedy.  Even the Star Trek movies were at least satisfactory, if not particularly great, as they always reset the world for the next adventure.

But this brings me back to my writing.  Even now, I don’t know how to end this blog entry. It feels like the right time to end, but was it enough? Did I even make a valid point?

I guess sometimes we just have to trust that we’ve done the best we can with an ending, and let the children leave the nest.

Leave a Reply

